Dosbox Normality Game wont run from CD ROM - memory error

Post problems with getting games installed and running properly here.
Memphis UK

Post by Memphis UK »

I am rying to run my copy of Normality on CDROM through DOSbox on windows vista. The game came with VDMSound which wold not work so I am trying DOSBOX. When I mount the CD Rom drive and try to launch the program I ge the following error message:

nomality cannot run with less than 11 MBytes of Hard disk space.
Only 0 bytes are available.
Please free some space before running.

I guess this is because it is trying to run from the CD which obviously has no spare capacity. When I try to run from the .exe file that has been installed on the computer I get a litle further but not much. I get a game error message up saying to insert the disc or that it may need cleaning. Probably because it is nt looking in the right place. I am new to DOSBOX so please forgive me if this is really simple to fix, I have looked through the DOSBOX manula but cant find anything that relates to my problem.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks

Dan
dosraider
Admin
Admin

Post by dosraider »

Read and apply this first:
http://www.dosgames.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10437

So that a virtual C: is mounted when you run dosbox.
Run dosbox, mount the CD as CDdrive D: in dobox and install the game from D: on C:

As the game came with VDMSound (which BTW won't work swell in Vista) it is apparently not the original CD but an altered one, if you can't get it working in dosbox I will have to ask you to create a CD image ( I prefer BIN/CUE) and upload it on megaup, 4shared or rapidshare so that I can try things out.

If you don't want to do that, no problem,I will try to help you further, but it will be a lot of trial and error I'm afraid.
It is also possible that the game is pre-installed to run in VDMSound, then you will have to adapt the game setup to dosbox, maybe a *.cfg file or setsound ...? I don't know, we'll see.