LOL programming question.

Discuss popular GCS tools like ZZT, Megazeux and Adventure Game Studio, as well as programming and other topics related to game design.
Post Reply
tinman47
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:07 pm

LOL programming question.

Post by tinman47 »

Is it true you can make games out of MS-DOS Batch???

If so,how?
Last edited by tinman47 on Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

How ?
For starters, BUY A NEW KEYBOARD, one without caps or shift key , especially for you.
A topic title as PROGRAMMING QUESTION!!! is shouting at people, so if you want answers learn typing.

And I don't care that you're a 13 year young puber with acne, if you shout in my face you can solve your problems by yourself.
tinman47
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:07 pm

Post by tinman47 »

:blah: ................K.
User avatar
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god
Posts: 1219
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 6:32 am
Location: Europe

Post by 486 player »

By command 'choice', but without savin'.
NO Windows, NO DOSBox, DOS!
User avatar
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 7:02 pm
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

Post by Dogbreath »

It's theoretically possible, but it'd be a pretty sucky game. Not very efficient, either. If you're looking for an easy "starter" language, you're better off going with Q-BASIC. (Heh heh)

You might want to try a Game Creation System instead, so you can focus on honing your actual programming and game design skills without having to build your own game engine.
User avatar
Swiftcutter
Expert
Expert
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 7:49 am

Post by Swiftcutter »

When I was in high school, I wrote a simple "game" in batch using the aforementioned CHOICE command. It was basically a "choose your own adventure" story. I believe the current version of batch code in XP's console has more commands available, so you may be able to do something more complex with it.
tinman47
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:07 pm

Post by tinman47 »

Problem though,XP has 5.1 MS-DOS,it doesn't have choice.
User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

Dosbox has the CHOICE command.

Try once to input help or even better help /all at the dosbox prompt. ;)
User avatar
wardrich
"Some Troll"
Posts: 3944
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:08 pm
Location: Ontario Canada

Post by wardrich »

tinman47 wrote:Problem though,XP has 5.1 MS-DOS,it doesn't have choice.
There are ways around it... here's how I did it in my batch script:

Code: Select all

set choice=
set /p choice=Pick a number.
if not '%choice%'=='' set choice=%choice:~0,1%
if '%choice%'=='1' goto LUCIDA
if '%choice%'=='2' goto LINEDRAW
if '%choice%'=='3' goto OTHER
ECHO "%choice%" is not valid please try again 
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

uh, XP doesnt have DOS 5.1 because that is the version of winXP, you are not running the DOS included with winXP, you are running the shitty command prompt they include alongside the DOS that comes with winXP.

go to run and type each and after typing one push enter.

CMD
COMMAND

Image
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
tinman47
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:07 pm

Post by tinman47 »

Hey...Franpa and Wardrich game me an Idea!

HEHEHE...

Perfect... :devil:
User avatar
abyss
Moloral Compass
Moloral Compass
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:13 pm

Post by abyss »

Why do people say command prompt is lousy. It's just as good as real dos. msdos and command prompt don't emulate hardware their just dos command line perimeters. command prompt is great. The easiest to use language is gw basic.
<i>Formerly known as Hulk Hogan.</i>
User avatar
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god
Posts: 1219
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 6:32 am
Location: Europe

Post by 486 player »

It doesn't have all DOS commands.
NO Windows, NO DOSBox, DOS!
redshock
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:56 pm

Post by redshock »

I'm going after a computer science major, so I figured I would share some light on this subject. Since we're at a DOS games site, I'll talk about DOS game programming. First, you need to know the programming language C. Not C++, it's way too overhead for DOS and was barely used. You can program straight in DOSBox using Turbo C (the compiler). Next I would suggest picking up Tricks of the Game Programming Gurus by Andre' LaMothe. You will be making games in no time. But take your time and don't skip over any of these steps.
Post Reply