+ Quest for Glory IV Help!

Post problems with getting games installed and running properly here.
Post Reply
SoulBlazer

+ Quest for Glory IV Help!

Post by SoulBlazer »

Hi folks, hoping someone out there can help. Spent a few hours working on this and got nowhere.

Recently, though, I got a craving to play QFG 4 again. No longer having the Collection, which I sold last year for money, I broke down until I remembered I still had the old disc version stashed away! I dug it out, installed it, patched it, right clicked on the launch icon in Windows XP, and put it into 256 color mode. And then launched it. Oh yes, I'm playing the Windows version

It SEEMED to start fine, and I was able to click on the Create Charcter screen, but when ever I tried to click on one of the doors, the game crashed. Same thing happened when I hit the Restore Game option.

Even though music was there, I thought it might be a sound conflict, so I disabled all my drivers in Windows and tried again. Same result.

I tried to install the DOS version, but it would'nt work for some reason, and I did'nt have any luck making a boot disk either.

I'd be happy to run the game without music (I can get that from somewhere else) but I'm just not having any luck!

(I have a XP 6.1 Game Theater, by the way)

I've also tried the SB patch, but I have that file.

Help!
User avatar
procerus
Expert
Expert
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2002 3:27 pm

Post by procerus »

I don't think it will run without DOS proper (or a DOS-based Windows version).

See here-
http://pub8.ezboard.com/ffacstheresurre ... =159.topic
<CENTER><A HREF="http://www.litepc.com/index.html"><IMG SRC="http://www.procerus.btinternet.co.uk/98 ... A></CENTER>
<CENTER>with <FONT COLOR=FF0000><B>629K</B></FONT> of free conventional memory in full DOS mode using QEMM 9.0<BR>(or 628K with <A HREF="http://www.uwe-sieber.de/umbpci_e.html">UMBPCI.SYS</A> providing real mode for <A HREF="http://members.aol.com/axcel216/speed.htm">FastVid</A>) with SmartDrive, CD-ROM,
<A HREF="http://cutemouse.sourceforge.net/">CuteMouse</A>, sound support and <A HREF="http://home.student.utwente.nl/r.muller ... Refresh</A> all loaded high.</CENTER>
SoulBlazer

Huh?

Post by SoulBlazer »

You're saying that the floppy version of QFG4 for Windows won't run at ALL on a modern system when the CD version will, according to other posts I've looked at?
User avatar
procerus
Expert
Expert
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2002 3:27 pm

Post by procerus »

Hi SoulBlazer,

I don't own the game and haven't tried to play it on XP or any other OS. I did a web search for the game in connection with Windows XP and found that thread over at the QFG forums.

In the final thread someone says "The main reason being XP won't even do less than 256 colours, which makes the earlier sierra games completely unplayable." That may or may not be the problem.

Using a boot disk (a usual remedy for such ills) will not be possible if your computer is formatted with NTFS rather than FAT32 as that thread also states.

If you know someone who's got the CD version of the game working on Windows XP then ask them how they did it!

When Microsoft designed Windows XP (or NT and 2000 on which it is based) they deliberately removed a lot of legacy baggage that was hamstringing the Windows OS. That legacy baggage was largely comprised of DOS and its components. With that went DOS games capability which gained the OS speed and stability and lost backwards compatibility.

I own and use Windows XP. It's a fine operating system. But I wouldn't use it for any game more than five years old. :laugh:

Sorry not to be more help. Hope you get the game working.
<CENTER><A HREF="http://www.litepc.com/index.html"><IMG SRC="http://www.procerus.btinternet.co.uk/98 ... A></CENTER>
<CENTER>with <FONT COLOR=FF0000><B>629K</B></FONT> of free conventional memory in full DOS mode using QEMM 9.0<BR>(or 628K with <A HREF="http://www.uwe-sieber.de/umbpci_e.html">UMBPCI.SYS</A> providing real mode for <A HREF="http://members.aol.com/axcel216/speed.htm">FastVid</A>) with SmartDrive, CD-ROM,
<A HREF="http://cutemouse.sourceforge.net/">CuteMouse</A>, sound support and <A HREF="http://home.student.utwente.nl/r.muller ... Refresh</A> all loaded high.</CENTER>
Guest

Post by Guest »

Well, thanks for the reply, but there has to be a way to get either the Windows OR the DOS version working. I was able to get KQ5 and KQ6 to run just fine inside Windows (KQ5 by manualy changing the video driver resolutions before I play and KQ6 by playing the DOS version).

I described in my first post the problems with the Windows version.

The DOS version won't install at all for some reason! I opened a Command prompt, went to the first disk, made sure the path was correct, and typed INSTALL.EXE. It comes back as "Bad command or file name". Same thing happens when I try to launch the file inside Windows.

As a matter of fact, I DO have a older HD installed in my system as well, and THAT one uses FAT32. But when I tried switching to that HD to use to install the game, same problem.

I can't figure it out.
User avatar
procerus
Expert
Expert
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2002 3:27 pm

Post by procerus »

The DOS version of the game probably needs MSCDEX (Microsoft's CD-ROM Extension) which is a DOS driver component that won't work in XP. If you can navigate to the disk (typing "D:" or whatever and hitting return) then XP can see it but perhaps the installer can't work without DOS proper and the components it expects?

Or are you using a boot disk for the DOS install (in which case we need to install a CD-ROM driver)?
<CENTER><A HREF="http://www.litepc.com/index.html"><IMG SRC="http://www.procerus.btinternet.co.uk/98 ... A></CENTER>
<CENTER>with <FONT COLOR=FF0000><B>629K</B></FONT> of free conventional memory in full DOS mode using QEMM 9.0<BR>(or 628K with <A HREF="http://www.uwe-sieber.de/umbpci_e.html">UMBPCI.SYS</A> providing real mode for <A HREF="http://members.aol.com/axcel216/speed.htm">FastVid</A>) with SmartDrive, CD-ROM,
<A HREF="http://cutemouse.sourceforge.net/">CuteMouse</A>, sound support and <A HREF="http://home.student.utwente.nl/r.muller ... Refresh</A> all loaded high.</CENTER>
Guest

Post by Guest »

Well, thanks for the help. I finally just ordered the CD version from EBay and also downloaded Virtual PC and have been playing the DOS version with that until the CD one gets here.
Guido

Working patch for Quest For Glory 1-4

Post by Guido »

I do have a working patch for theQuest For Glory Series however will and only will traded the patches if the person in return sends me a working copy of Quest for Glory 1-3 via email or other. For more info Email me at Msnooginz3@aol.com
Post Reply