How to get Need for Speed SE to work [Win7-64]

Post problems with getting games installed and running properly here.
strife67

How to get Need for Speed SE to work [Win7-64]

Post by strife67 »

Hello, i'm completely new to all this. i've been playing consel units and never got into computer games until recently. i would love to get my windows 95 through 98 games to work again. I have a Windows 7 64 OS and need DOS to use these games as i have read. I have downloaded DOSBox 0.74 and have successfully mounted Drive C. i have spent hours on this site looking for how to play The Need for Speed SE and i found 2 posts. one is on The Need for Speed, and the other says that SE works differently than the normal version. i dont understand how to type in the coding and would like someone to help me with atleast the basics. i'm a very quick learner and would greatly appreciate any help. Thank you in advance.
dosraider
Admin
Admin

Post by dosraider »

Welcome on DGF.
First of all: gonna need some details from you, as are:
Could you post your mount lines?
NFSSE: downloaded something or do you have the (original) CD ?

FYI: NFSSE runs fine on Win7-64-dosbox, just need to follow some basic rules, and if you're indeed a fast learner you gonna be on your way in no-time.
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.
strife67

Post by strife67 »

thank you

judging and trying to understand the tutorial i have as shown (note not all of this i typed, some was already there when i started it like the SET BLASTER) :

Z:\>SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 H5 T6

Z:mount c "c:\users\RHONDA\oldgames"
Driver C is mounted as local directory c:\users\RHONDA\oldgames\

Z:\mount d d:\ -t cdrom
MSCDEX installed.
Drive D is mounted as CDRom d:\

Z:\>c:

C:\>CD TNFSSE

And thats as far as i've gotten so far. how am i doing?

i own and have the original CD rom from when the SE came out. condition is great too. [EDIT] yes i am trying to use the CD i have.