Saving Games (Curse of the Azure Bonds)

Post problems with getting games installed and running properly here.
Post Reply
Sinker

Saving Games (Curse of the Azure Bonds)

Post by Sinker »

Using dosbox 0.73 on Windows XP
playing Curse of the Azure Bonds.

mount c c:\oldgames
c:
cd curse
start

The games starts (without sound). I select create a character from the main menu.

When I try to save my character it says "Unexpected Error During Save: 3"
When I try to add character to party is says "unexpected error during save: 3"

I think there is an error with where the game is trying to save the character. Can you help? Also, how to I get sound?

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

Why dosbox 0.73?
It's old, update to 0.74 to begin with.

Next, Arure Bonds, ah that's a bit a special one.
Do you have the original game?
If yes, how did you installed the game?
Are there subdirs in your \curse\ folder?

Look for curse.cfg file in \curse\ and copy/paste what's in it here.
(open with notepad, do NOT alter anything, do NOT save when closing notepad)
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

Sinker

Saving Games (Curse of the Azure Bonds)

Post by Sinker »

downloaded from Home of the Underdogs (not original)

here is what curse.cfg says:

E
S
C:\IN\CURSE\T\SAVE\
F

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

dosraider wrote:Are there subdirs in your \curse\ folder?
????
Need to know.
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

Sinker

saving Games (Curse of the Azure Bonds)

Post by Sinker »

no other subdir. just oldgames\curse

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

So if I understand you swell:
In windows you have c:\oldgames\curse\

In dosbox your path is: c:\curse\

What you need to do is:
In windows create a subdir \save\ under \curse\ so that you get:
c:\oldgames\curse\save\

Now open curse.cfg again with notepad and alter it this way:


E
P
C:\CURSE\SAVE\
F


Save on exit. (be sure that windows doesn't saves it as curse.cgf.txt )

Run dosbox and launch your game, you should have PC speaker sound and should be able to save/load your game.
However, as the game from HotU is probably a rip and cracked, there could be other problems, ... maybe.
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

Sinker

saving Games (Curse of the Azure Bonds)

Post by Sinker »

Looks good to me. Thank you for your assistance!

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

You're welcome.
:)
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

lurice01
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:11 am

Post by lurice01 »

hey Sorry to bring up old thread, but this is the exact problem im having,

except i'm on a mac and my CURSE.CFG file is blank when i open it in TextEdit, (which is same as NotePad.)

i'm on a mac os x 10.7.5 Lion

using Boxer 1.4.0 based on DosBox 0.74

Please and Thank You

User avatar
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers
Posts: 4708
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 8:30 pm

Post by Wally »

Saves work for me with boxer and a copy I downloaded from somewhere.. (you need to view the package contents (Secondary click on the boxer package) and it'll be in there.


As you downloaded it from somewhere random, why not get the GOG version and support the developer? https://www.gog.com/game/forgotten_real ... 711ca0fddd'

Oh and for the love of god. update your OS.

lurice01
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:11 am

Post by lurice01 »

When i secondary click on boxer package and view the package contents,
i find the CURSE.CFG file, But it is BLANK. What do i write in there if I'm on a mac? On the original posters PC, he wrote:

E
P
C:\CURSE\SAVE\
F

what should i, on a mac using boxer, write differently?


P.S.
I need a new computer, mine only goes to Lion. I have an older one that only goes to Leopard. I don't like having to upgrade again and again and again. I paid for game back in the day and that computer gone now. All game money goes to new computer atm.

lurice01
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:11 am

Post by lurice01 »

bump

User avatar
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander
Posts: 2092
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:07 am

Post by Quadko »

Brainstorming:

Is there a setup or config or install exe? Sometimes those will setup the config file for you.

Mac text editors aren't quite the same as dos or windows text editors (mostly newlines). Slightly different flavors between Linux, Mac, Windows, Dos. A Dos program might not be happy with a Mac edited file, even if it looks OK.

Other than that, it's dosbox config that matters, not mac or whatever. I don't know boxer, it might be hiding too many details? But is the game installed on c:\curse? Does c:\curse\save exist? Is it looking for a CD? Is that E or F supposed to be the CD drive, or just random config values (ega, false?). I don't know what the answers should be, but those are the kinds of questions to ask. :)

Post Reply