EGA Games

General discussion for all topics related to DOS, Windows, Linux, consoles, etc. Anything to do with games.
Post Reply
User avatar
Chilly Willy
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:20 pm

EGA Games

Post by Chilly Willy »

I notice that most games that state they use the EGA color palette, still only use the sixteen colors from the CGA palette. Are there any EGA games that actually use any sixteen colors from the sixty-four colors that EGA offers?
User avatar
Frenkel
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 543
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by Frenkel »

Here's a list of games that tweak the EGA card: http://www.mobygames.com/attribute/sheet/attributeId,6/

Maybe some games on that list use a different palette of colors than the default 16 colors.
Groeten van Frenkel
Visit us at the Official S&F Prod. Homepage
User avatar
tienkhoanguyen
PSEUDOCODER
Posts: 2664
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 9:43 am
Location: Texas

God, Jesus Christ, is number one!hehe

Post by tienkhoanguyen »

Jesus Christ!hehe

I just developer a program that reads a 256 color palette. It should be in the section where all my developing routines are. The default loadfile.bmp are only shades of grey however you can use a color bitmap and it would show too. I am listing the files here for convenience. Enjoy - although I don't get paid for it, I am happy others find a use for my apps.

http://www.mediafire.com/view/g0ue51vaw ... adfile.bmp

http://www.mediafire.com/view/axb3xgl2jl8ad8f/jcbmp20.c

http://www.mediafire.com/download/zw42r ... CBMP20.EXE
God, Jesus Christ, is number one!hehe
Jesus Christ!hehe
Bless Jesus Christ!
Then please bless my mom.
Honour to my mom Huong Thi Vu
Honour to my dad Thuy Binh Nguyen
Love to cousin Carl Anh Cuong Cao Vu
Thank you Jesus Christ.
User avatar
Chilly Willy
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:20 pm

Post by Chilly Willy »

Thanks for the list Frenkel and thanks for the app tienkhoanguyen! ;)
Creativity is at its best when there's limitations.
User avatar
tienkhoanguyen
PSEUDOCODER
Posts: 2664
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 9:43 am
Location: Texas

God, Jesus Christ, is number one!hehe

Post by tienkhoanguyen »

Jesus Christ!hehe

Glad I could help you. Please feel free to change the codes as you need to.

Thanks for making me feel useful!!!!!!!!!!!!

:bday:

Have a good day Chilly Willy.
God, Jesus Christ, is number one!hehe
Jesus Christ!hehe
Bless Jesus Christ!
Then please bless my mom.
Honour to my mom Huong Thi Vu
Honour to my dad Thuy Binh Nguyen
Love to cousin Carl Anh Cuong Cao Vu
Thank you Jesus Christ.
User avatar
Frenkel
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 543
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by Frenkel »

BTW, on an EGA in 320x200 mode you can only use the default 16 colors. In 640x350 you can choose 16 colors from a palette of 64 colors.
Groeten van Frenkel
Visit us at the Official S&F Prod. Homepage
User avatar
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander
Posts: 2092
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:07 am

Post by Quadko »

I didn't know that, cool. I always assumed most games/programmers were some form of "lazy" or just happy to have the 16 colors to play with and that was why so many EGA games were limited to the default 16.

I think Aldo and Snarf and of course EGA Trek were my favorite EGA games, before getting a VGA card. Of course Sierra games, etc., but those were their own things.
User avatar
Chilly Willy
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:20 pm

Post by Chilly Willy »

Frenkel wrote:BTW, on an EGA in 320x200 mode you can only use the default 16 colors. In 640x350 you can choose 16 colors from a palette of 64 colors.
Do you happen to know the reasoning for that? One would think you would be able to choose from the 64 colors even in low res, if you can in hi res.
User avatar
Rwolf
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god
Posts: 1217
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:19 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Rwolf »

Backward compatible mode for CGA monitors.
There is an article describing it here:

http://www.reenigne.org/blog/why-the-eg ... ine-modes/
User avatar
MrFlibble
Demoniac Demo maniac
Demoniac Demo maniac
Posts: 3227
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:39 am

Post by MrFlibble »

Frenkel wrote:BTW, on an EGA in 320x200 mode you can only use the default 16 colors. In 640x350 you can choose 16 colors from a palette of 64 colors.
I did not know that either. Thanks for the info!
User avatar
Chilly Willy
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:20 pm

Post by Chilly Willy »

Rwolf wrote:Backward compatible mode for CGA monitors.
There is an article describing it here:

http://www.reenigne.org/blog/why-the-eg ... ine-modes/
Thanks for the link. That's odd how they did that. I would say most games that were advertised as EGA are really CGA. Kind of odd that the developers of that time would state that.
User avatar
tienkhoanguyen
PSEUDOCODER
Posts: 2664
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 9:43 am
Location: Texas

God, Jesus Christ, is number one!hehe

Post by tienkhoanguyen »

Jesus Christ!hehe

I think it has to do with the way the chip is designed. I was reading a diagram of the chip circuits, and supposedly it is wired in such a way that you have to do like that. I think it goes back to convenience. Back in the days memory and such was at a premium. For instance, it was not until the VGA card came out that it could have 256 color palettes. Then the SVGA card eventually came out because I guess there was a huge demand for more colors. So you have like 65536 colors instead of 256. Then when Windows XP came around you have millions of colors.

Personally, I am fine with working in XP to develop DOS applications. I know it sounds funny however I just find it more convenient.
God, Jesus Christ, is number one!hehe
Jesus Christ!hehe
Bless Jesus Christ!
Then please bless my mom.
Honour to my mom Huong Thi Vu
Honour to my dad Thuy Binh Nguyen
Love to cousin Carl Anh Cuong Cao Vu
Thank you Jesus Christ.
User avatar
Rwolf
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god
Posts: 1217
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:19 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Rwolf »

The first IBM PC I used at work was to have the (then) brand new EGA card.
It was shipped without any graphics card, and it took +6 months to get it delivered, tough luck. Must have been a high demand for these things.

Once it arrived it only had 64kB installed, to get full 256k you had to buy an add-on mezzanine card. The only thing it was eventually used for, was for the odd compatibility tests done by the support guys.

(I managed to find a different 256kB EGA card from a 3rd party vendor, with a Windows 1.0 package in the deal, much cheaper than the original IBM brand, so I didn't have to sit twiddling my thumbs for the whole delay).
Post Reply