DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Help me with "acter world"

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
edy88
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 13 May 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 9:33 pm     Post subject: Help me with "acter world" Reply with quote

I spent WEEKS looking for this game. Now, I know its name and I have already downloaded it (here, because it seems that this is the only site in the world that say something about it: http://www10.plala.or.jp/bb/zac/actwd_e.html)
I have Windows 10 in my machine. I tried to run it, and, for my happiness, it didn't work, of course. I tried ALL the "compatibility settings" possible, and tried to run Virtual Box with windows 95 (because this game run in win 95/98), but, again, it didn't work. So, if some good soul can help me runnig this game, I would really apreciate. My HATE by PROGRAMMING IS GROWING EXPONENCIALLY, I can't EVEN play the games I WANT BECAUSE THEY MAKE EVERYTHING ABOUT IT COMPLEX. So, please, help me and speak without using words that I wouldn't understand, in order to avoid me turning my computer into DUST WITH A HAMMER.
Sorry for the bad english.
Thank you for your attention.
Back to top
MrFlibble
Demoniac Demo maniac
Demoniac Demo maniac


Offline
Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 2561

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2018 4:01 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

If it doesn't want to even run in Windows 95 then something might be wrong with the version that you got.

What kind of error messages do you get when it refuses to work?
Back to top
edy88
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 13 May 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2018 10:08 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, its not that it didn't work on windows 95, I can not use the Virtual box, so It might work, yes. However, I'm too dumb to get it working well (I am also a little angry, as you can see.)
But when I used the "compatibility settings" that windows 10 offers,the game
was initializated, but the screen was all black, but I could hear the music playing and I could "play" the game...
Back to top
MrFlibble
Demoniac Demo maniac
Demoniac Demo maniac


Offline
Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 2561

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2018 4:15 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're willing to go through the trouble of installing Linux and trying to run it through Wine that might work. You can also try ReactOS in a virtual machine.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)